Category: Indian number theorists

K. G. Ramanathan
Kollagunta Gopalaiyer Ramanathan (13 November 1920 – 10 May 1992) was an Indian mathematician known for his work in number theory. His contributions are also to the general development of mathematical
Srinivasa Ramanujan
Srinivasa Ramanujan FRS (/ˈsriːnɪvɑːsə rɑːˈmɑːnʊdʒən/; born Srinivasa Ramanujan Aiyangar, IPA: [sriːniʋaːsa ɾaːmaːnud͡ʑan ajːaŋgar]; 22 December 1887 – 26 April 1920) was an Indian mathematician. Thou
Kanakanahalli Ramachandra
Kanakanahalli Ramachandra (18 August 1933 – 17 January 2011) was an Indian mathematician working in both analytic number theory and algebraic number theory.
Sarvadaman Chowla
Sarvadaman D. S. Chowla (22 October 1907 – 10 December 1995) was an Indian American mathematician, specializing in number theory.
Arul Shankar
Arul Shankar is an Indian mathematician at the University of Toronto specialising in number theory; more specifically, arithmetic statistics.He received his B.Sc. (honours) in mathematics and computer
Mathukumalli V. Subbarao
Mathukumalli (Matukumalli) Venkata Subbarao (May 4, 1921 – February 15, 2006) was an Indo-Canadian mathematician, specialising in number theory. He was a long-time resident of Edmonton, Alberta, Canad
Subbayya Sivasankaranarayana Pillai
Subbayya Sivasankaranarayana Pillai (5 April 1901 – 31 August 1950) was an Indian mathematician specialising in number theory. His contribution to Waring's problem was described in 1950 by K. S. Chand
Hoon Balakram
Hoon Balakram (1876–1929) was an Indian mathematician, civil servant and Bombay High Court judge.
D. R. Kaprekar
Dattatreya Ramchandra Kaprekar (Marathi: दत्तात्रेय रामचंद्र कापरेकर; 17 January 1905 – 1986) was an Indian recreational mathematician who described several classes of natural numbers including the Ka
Hansraj Gupta
Hansraj Gupta (9 October 1902 – 23 November 1988) was an Indian mathematician specialising in number theory, in particular the study of the partition function.
R. K. Rubugunday
Raghunath Krishna Rubugunday (1918–2000) was an Indian mathematician specializing in number theory notable for his contribution to Waring's problem. Rubugunday was born in Madras in 1918. The famous m
K. S. Chandrasekharan
Komaravolu Chandrasekharan (21 November 1920 – 13 April 2017)was a professor at ETH Zurich and a founding faculty member of School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). He is
P Kesava Menon
Puliyakot Keshava Menon (1917 – 22 October 1979) was an Indian mathematician best known as Director of the Joint Cipher Bureau. His sudden demise on 22 October 1979, ended active research in the areas